News & Events
Year 7 2024 Enrolments close Friday 12 May 2023

Laureate Awards celebrate academic excellence and outstanding personal achievements in 2021


Catherine McAuley College (CMC) has recognised and celebrated the student achievements of 2021. Despite the many obstacles presented throughout the academic year, our students succeeded in reaching academic excellence and outstanding personal achievements.

The College Dux, Toby Costigan and next two highest achievers, Deanna Duane and Maya Flood were celebrated at the announcement of results back in December 2021. Dux and outstanding achievement awards to 2021 graduates were sent by mail recently.

Current students who achieved dux of their subjects in 2021 were formally presented in a series of year level assemblies over the past few weeks.

One of the most prestigious awards of our College each year is the Mercy Scholarship, which aims to foster leadership in the Mercy tradition. The 2021 recipient was Lily Jones. Lily, who is currently in Year 12, was recognised for her outstanding academic achievement and citizenship with a swag of awards including: dux of VCE Chemistry Units 1 & 2, VCE English Language Units 1 & 2, VCE Indonesian Units 1 & 2, VCE Specialist Maths Units 1 & 2. Lily was also presented with a La Trobe University Infinity Award and a Term 4 Spirit of Catherine Award.

Another noteworthy award is the Bishop Noel Daly Award, presented to the Year 12 student whose conduct is best fit to be imitated, who has shown a consistent approach to their studies and given distinguished service to the CMC community. Congratulations to the 2021 recipient, Deanna Duane.

The Seeds of Justice Award is presented to a student who has shown the greatest commitment to social justice. The 2021 recipient is Emila Hamilton.

The Spirit of Catherine Awards were presented to students who best live out the Mercy values. The Term 4 2021 recipients are:

  • Year 7: Miller Nihill, Diana Napoleon
  • Year 8: Tessa Skipper, Marc Emmanuelle Genebraldo
  • Year 9: Oliver Sexton, Jaida Tuohey
  • Year 10: Emila Hamilton, Jordyn Aldred
  • Year 11: Lily Jones, Lochlan Eastwood
  • Year 12: Jack Stewart, Abby Perdon

The College is fortunate to have a strong relationship with La Trobe University. The university presents awards to students across a range of disciplines. The La Trobe University Infinity Awards are for students who demonstrate academic excellence across all their studies and exhibit a strong sense of social and environmental responsibility in their extracurricular activities. The 2021 Infinity Award recipients are:

  • Kiara Clarke
  • Lochlan Eastwood
  • Grace Elliot
  • Lily Jones

The La Trobe Business School Excellence Awards were presented to the highest-achieving students:

  • Carla Mills (Accounting)
  • Jacob Nihill (Economics)
  • Tyra Brauer (Business Management)
  • Caitlin Millar (Legal Studies)

Several awards and scholarships are also provided by Monash University, Melbourne University and the Australian Defence Force to high-achieving students.

The St Vincent’s College Past Students Association presents two awards to Year 9 students, with Caitlyn Brew receiving the St Vincent’s Agricultural Award and Jessica Millar the St Vincent’s Technology Award for 2021.

Some awards are given in recognition of former teachers and students including in language, social justice and the arts. Other notable achievements in representative sport have also been acknowledged.

We congratulate all graduates and students who have received awards for their academic and other outstanding achievements.

Mr Matthew Angove, Director of Learning and Teaching