News & Events

Year 8 boys in great form for cricket



Year 8 Boys Cricket

On 28 February, the CMC Year Boys 8 Cricket team travelled to Club Court Strathfieldsaye to start their campaign for 2023.

The first game was played against Victory Christian College with CMC winning the toss and electing to bat. Openers Tyce Griffin and Zane MacDonald got the boys off to a flying start, mixing boundaries and running hard between the wickets.

This good beginning allowed the middle order to come in swinging. Top scorers included two fifties from Tyce Griffin and Riley Travaglia respectively. CMC finished the innings 1/148 from their 12 overs.

The momentum continued into the bowling innings, CMC bowlers displayed beautifully disciplined bowling with ten different bowlers used, and seven of them were wicket-takers, with Xavier Horan, Griffin O’Shea, Oscar Kleinert and Tyce Griffin all claiming two wickets each. Runs were hard to come by for Victory and their innings finished with the score of 13.

Game 2 started with CMC winning the toss and sending Eaglehawk Secondary College in to bat. Opener Callan Orr got the boys off to the perfect start with an in-swinging yorker to take out off-stump in the third ball of the game, dismissing Eaglehawk’s key batter. The bowlers continued their form from the first game, making it very difficult for the Eaglehawk batsmen to score. Wickets were shared amongst the bowlers again and Eaglehawk were restricted to 39 runs off their 12 overs. CMC’s batting innings got off to a shaky start with Eaglehawk claiming an early wicket, before Tyce Griffin and Aydan Hand displayed their power hitting abilities and guided the team home in the fourth over.

Both games were played in great spirit, the boys were thrilled to play together and represent CMC. They now advance to the finals day to play against Bendigo South East College and Marist College Bendigo for a chance to qualify to the Loddon Mallee Region finals.

Thanks to Mr Dunham and Mr Code for coaching the team.

Back L-R: Mr Xavier Dunham (Coach), Maxwell Nicholas, Joshua Kelly, Aydan Hand, Callan Orr, Riley Travaglia, Elliot Ryan, Griffin O’Shea, Mr Alex Code (Coach)
Front L-R: Chad Mannes, Oscar Kleinert, Xavier Horan, Jacobi Kramer, Tyce Griffin, Zane MacDonald