News & Events

Race Day Reunion and Dinner


St Vincent’s College – Past Students Association (SVCPSA)

The annual gathering at Marong Cup will not be held in 2021. The annual catch up at Marong Cup in February 2020 was the only official reunion held throughout 2020.

See below for general information about the SVCPSA.

Due to Privacy issues, Catherine McAuley College Bendigo (CMC, formerly Catholic College Bendigo) is the custodian of all past St Vincent’s College Student Records. CMC is mindful of stewardship of resources and has taken a proactive role in reducing the amount of paper used and money spent on postage. Please advise the Alumni Office of any change of address or email. If you do not have an email address, we will still keep in contact by post.

At our Reunions in 2005 and 2015, we celebrated the 50th and 60th anniversaries of the opening of the St Vincent’s College. In response to favourable feedback received at past Race Days, your Association intends to continue having the Marong Cup Race Day and Dinner Reunions as an annual event have planned a 65th Year Celebration in 2020 – more details on included on the Hall of Fame letter.

As previously advised, we have set up Area Co-ordinators to help with getting Past Students together and spreading the word about upcoming Bendigo reunions/activities. We have been encouraging all Area Co-ordinators to have their own unique get-togethers – e.g. counter teas, afternoon sessions, sporting activities, etc. in their own districts and at those activities to plan their attendance at future annual Bendigo Reunions.

Current Area Co-ordinators are:
BENDIGO: Tim Coates (1966-71) 0407 403 574 –
Jim Brennan (1965-70) 0458 266 800 –
Kevin McGrath (1967-68) 0408 124 829 –
MELBOURNE: Des Curtis (1968-72)
Ron Storey (1967-68) 0418 332 431 –
John Prowse (1967-69) 0418 360 312 –
SWAN HILL: Stephen Foott (1972-75)
GEELONG: Ken Curtis (1966-70)
Laurie Curran (1972-73) 0438 520 000 –
BALLARAT: Peter Burton (1969-72) 0411 201 301 (also at North Britain Hotel 03 5331 1291)
NSW: Ross Elliott (1968-70)

Your SVCPSA currently provides a prize for the most promising Catherine McAuley College student in the Technology category each year and have now included an additional prize for the best student in Agriculture. Thank you to our ongoing generous sponsor Bendigo Hume & Iser Mitre 10. To keep up our support of student awards and to help fund the setup costs of future reunions and activities, financial donations as well as participation by past students at events, are essential. It is great to have the support of a local business.

We are grateful for the donations received so far and encourage further donations, large or small, to help ensure future reunions and associated activities. Donations can be deposited directly into the St Vincent’s Past Students’ Bendigo Bank account, as follows: Account Name: St Vincent’s Past Students Burse, BSB 633-000, Account No: 106 509 219. Please put your name as a reference.

Catherine McAuley College Alumni Facebook group is open to all past students. Also there is a closed group aimed at people in the Class of 1970 cohort

So, it would be appreciated if you would:

  • Make contact with your Area Coordinator and encourage any of your past St Vincent’s buddies and family members to do the same
  • Consider contributing to the Award fund
  • Mark the 65-Year Anniversary celebration in your calendar: Saturday 16 October 2021

Cheers from the St Vincent’s College Past Students Association:

Tim Coates, Kevin McGrath and Jim Brennan


SVC Annual gathering 2019
SVC Annual gathering 2019
SVC Annual gathering 2019
SVC Annual gathering 2019
SVC Annual gathering 2019
SVC Annual gathering 2019
SVC Annual gathering 2019
SVC Annual gathering 2019
SVC Annual gathering 2019
SVC Annual gathering 2019