Oval Restoration at Coolock14/04/2022
Turfing the top oval (Finn Oval) at Coolock is complete. Our College draws on a diverse and rich history of Catholic education in Bendigo since 1876. St Mary’s College, Marist Brothers’ College, St Vincent’s College and Catholic College Bendigo are the proud predecessors of Catherine McAuley College.
Coolock Campus is where St Vincent’s College was located and the Howard and Finn Ovals were named for two Vincentian priests, the first and last Presidents of St Vincent’s College (1955 – 1977). We are delighted to announce that these ovals will retain their original names, while discussions are currently underway with members of the St Vincent’s College Past Students Association to honour the history of the College in naming the other upgraded sporting ovals.
Howard Oval: Father Michael Howard was a Vincentian priest and the first President of St Vincent’s College. He was the President from 1955 to 1960 and again from 1964 until his death in 1967.
Finn Oval: Father Thomas Finn was a Vincentian priest and the last President of St Vincent’s College. He was the President from 1974 to 1977.