News & Events

Intermediate Boys Cricket Team decisively through to State Finals


Congratulations to our Intermediate Boys Cricket Team that won their State Cricket Quarter Final against Montmorency Secondary College on Wednesday 6 November.


Intermediate Boys Cricket

After winning the toss and deciding to bat, the boys got off to a steady start, ticking the runs over at a gentle rate.  Wil Tuohey and Jasper Langley were batting well, however the run rate was a tad slower than desired.  As the boys started to open up their shoulders, Tuohey mishit a hook shot, to be caught out on 23.  Langley was next to go on 24, but the precise hitting by Barri (30) and big hitting by Maltby (30) accelerated the run rate, which was required as the innings went on.  Wilkinson chipped in with 16 runs as he came in down the order and Featherby was not out on 4, giving the boys a good total to bowl at as they finished at 6/135 after their 20 overs.

As the boys went out to bowl, the message was to keep it tight, bowl good line and length and be active in the field.  They were off to a great start as Ethan Maltby bowled one of the Montmorency openers with just his third ball of the day. He then followed up with another 2 wickets to have Montmorency reeling at 3/25 after just 5 overs.  Jack Keating then came on to take one wicket, James Barri followed suit taking 2 wickets. Add in a brilliant run out and the batting side were in all sorts of trouble at 7/60 in the 13th over.  2 wickets late in the match to Lachlan Wass saw the boys record a dominant victory as Montmorency batted out the remainder of the overs to finish at 9/86.

It was a fantastic all-round team performance by the Catherine McAuley College boys, and as a result they have now qualified for the State Finals, which are to be played in Melbourne on Friday 15 November.  We wish the boys the very best of luck.

Thanks to Mr Mattinson for his assistance on the day and thanks also to Ms Julieanne Hewitt for scoring.

Back L-R: Baxter Graham, Rowan Fox, Jai Featherby, James Worme, Ethan Maltby, Lachlan Wass, James Barri

Front L-R: Matthew Wilkinson, Jasper Langley, Harry McKinley, Jack Keating, Wil Tuohey