

720 Heidelberg Road (PO Box 5091) ALPHINGTON VIC 3078

> P: 03 9490 6600 www.mercy.edu.au

Governance

Mercy Education Limited (Mercy Education) is an incorporated ministry of Mercy Ministry Companions (MMC). MMC is responsible for ensuring, as faithfully as Catherine McAuley and her sisters, that the Catholic identity, charism and spirituality of schools previously under the stewardship of the Institute of Sisters of Mercy of Australia and Papua New Guinea (ISMAPNG), thrive into the future.

MMC delegates the responsibility of these thirteen schools' governance to Mercy Education. There are nine schools in Victoria, three in Western Australia and one in South Australia.

Commencing on 3 December 2021, the MMC Trustee Directors were installed by the Institute Leadership Team of ISMAPNG as the canonical authority for Mercy Education Ltd. The Trustee Directors also comprise the Board Directors of Mercy Ministry Companions Limited (MMCL), the civil body of Mercy Ministry Companions. Mercy Ministry Companions Limited is the Member of Mercy Education Limited.

In transferring the incorporated Education, Health and Community Service ministries to Mercy Ministry Companions, the Institute Leadership Council and the Institute has entrusted the Trustee Directors with this Mercy heritage and empowered them to develop new expressions of the "gift of mercy". In the new era of Mercy Ministry Companions, canonical stewards, board directors, executives and management continue to embody the compassion, hospitality, integrity, care, justice, practicality and service which characterise contemporary channels of Mercy.

The governance role of the Board of Mercy Education is confined to the thirteen schools and sets policies, approves schools' strategic plans, appoints Principals, approves senior leadership positions and fulfils due diligence in finance and audit management, capital development, risk management and litigation.

The current Board Directors and National Office Staff of Mercy Education are listed at https://www.mercy.edu.au/governance/board-members respectively.

The Mercy Education Limited schools are:

- Academy of Mary Immaculate, Fitzroy, VIC
- Catherine McAuley College, Bendigo, VIC
- Emmanuel College, Warrnambool, VIC
- Mercedes College, Perth, WA
- Mount Lilydale Mercy College, Lilydale, VIC
- Our Lady of Mercy College, Heidelberg, VIC
- Sacred Heart College, Geelong, VIC

- Sacred Heart College, Kyneton, VIC
- Santa Maria College, Attadale, WA
- St Aloysius College, Adelaide, SA
- St Aloysius College, North Melbourne, VIC
- St Brigid's College, Lesmurdie, WA
- St Joseph's College, Mildura, VIC

Mercy Education is the Employer of the Principal and staff of the Mercy Colleges. The existence of Mercy Education Limited gives strength, support and solidarity to each of the member Mercy schools and its community.